Commission sets $25 penalty fee for failure to report deer and elk tags October 5, 2012

Oregon Deer Population and Management News Archive

The penalty will begin with the purchase of 2014 hunting licenses. Hunters that fail to report their 2012 deer and elk tags by the deadline (Jan. 31, 2013 for most tags) will have to pay the one-time $25 fee to purchase a 2014 hunting license. (These licenses go on sale Dec. 1, 2013.)  The Oregon State Legislature gave ODFW the ability to charge a penalty fee of up to $25 last year. ODFW staff had proposed a $10 penalty fee. But Commissioners voted to set the fee at $25 as they felt hunters who were not reporting would be more likely to take notice of the requirement with a higher fee. Some hunters also testified in favor of the higher fee.  Hunters can report online or by calling 1-866-947-6339.


These articles have been reviewed for relevance and content.  Some links to the original article may no longer be active.

Related News and Information